400_Bad Request

Gilles Pourtier

Red pencil on arches paper 300gr

2020

Sold

Gilles Pourtier is dyslexic. This biographical excursus is necessary to understand the importance of language in his work, both as a motor and a support for his creation.

These drawn texts come from the maxims found in fortune cookies that intrigue him in their relationship to orality (ingesting a food that contains words) and the problem of meaning of language. The translation is often bad, but it generates a form of poetry and pushes oneself to think about the use of one’s own language with a form of humor and discrepancy. The “impersonality” of the language of these maxims interests him in association with conceptual artists’ works such as Laurence Weiner, Jenny Holzer or Ed Ruscha.

Here, Gilles Pourtier has kept the typography, the mistakes and the color of the original texts.

His work changes of scale which gives another perspective and perception. The spectator is invested through his own experience and can decide whether to believe what is written on these small pieces of paper or not.

Pourtier has chosen the intersection between the two sentences at the letter “o”, this is a wordgame between “croire” (believe) and “croix” (cross). His interest for the line may be found in the close relationship between line and language, both of which allow the formulation of signs that are both simple and complex.

The title comes from error messages in HTTP protocols. For example, 400_Bad Request means that the syntax of the request is wrong. Here again, language structures all exchanges and relationships.

“Language is the house we live in.” Soren Kierkegaard

  • 100x70 cm
More informations

See more of the artist

400_Bad Request

Gilles Pourtier

Crayon de couleur rouge sur papier arches

2020

Vendu

Gilles Pourtier est dyslexique. Cet excursus biographique est nécessaire pour comprendre l’importance du langage dans son travail à la fois comme moteur et comme support de sa création.

Ces textes dessinés sont issus des maximes des fortunes cookies. Ces biscuits l’intriguent dans le rapport à l’oralité (ingérer un aliment qui contient des mots) et aux problèmes du sens du langage. La traduction y est souvent mauvaise mais engendre une forme de poésie et nous pousse à réfléchir sur l’usage de notre propre langue avec une forme d’humour et de décalage. « L’impersonnalité » du langage de ces maximes l’intéresse en lien avec des artistes conceptuels tels Laurence Weiner, Jenny Holzer mais aussi Ed Ruscha.

Ici, Gilles Pourtier a conservé la typographie, les fautes et la couleur des textes originaux. Son travail se situe dans un geste de changement d’échelle qui donne une autre perspective et une autre perception. Le spectateur y investit par sa propre expérience et peut décider de croire ou non ce qui est écrit sur ces petits morceaux de papier.

C’est à partir d’un jeu de mot entre croire et croix que Pourtier a choisi l’intersection entre les deux langues au niveau des « o ». Son intérêt pour la ligne se trouve peut-être dans le rapport étroit qui existe entre ligne et langage, tous deux permettant la formulation de signes à la fois simple et complexes.

Le titre quant à lui vient des messages d’erreurs lors des protocoles d’échanges HTTP. Par exemple, 400_Bad Request signifie que la syntaxe de la requête est erronée. Là encore, le langage structure l’ensemble des échanges et relations.

« Le langage est la maison dans laquelle on habite. » Soren Kierkegaard

  • 100x70 cm

En voir plus de l'artiste